The Ship: History
In 1688, The Ship Inn was built as a farmhouse by Thomas Mills, for the Mills family of Monkseaton. The original building was situated slightly to the east of the Ship Inn as it is now, on the junction of Lyndhurst Road and Percy Terrace.
It was in the late 1700's that the original farmhouse was converted to become an ale parlour.
The inn wa passed on to a Mrs Ann Arthur who was the licensee between 1851 and 1855. Succeeding owners and licensees are: 1855 – John Nicholson; 1873 – Joseph Blake; 1876-1887 – Thomas Arkley, 1893 – Mrs Nicholson; 1897 – Joseph Potts; 1910 – Elizabeth Robinson.
The Old Ship Inn was demolished n 1922, replaced the year after with the present building, at a cost of £5,100. This was commissioned by the Northumberland Brewery Co. Ltd., who were also owners of the Monkseaton Brewery. A prominent stone plaque was erected above the door reading: “1688 – Ye Olde Ship Inn. Rebuilt 1923”.
Fast forward nearly 100 years, and The Ship has seen plenty changes, most recently under the management of Vikki and Jonnie who have transformed the pub into a social hub for the monkseaton community, coastal dwellers and passers through, after a tasteful and very welcomed refurbishment of both the lounge and outside yard into a vibrant beer garden, the pub still mainatins it's traditional and historical charm whilst also having a modern, contemporary and welcoming feel - you are always assured of a warm welcome at the ship!